Glitch by Heather Anastasiu
Glitch
Heather Anastasiu
Learn More
 
Link to hear Kesley tell about us.
Listen to KMeng, one of our Student Reviewer All-Stars, tell about reading and reviewing books for us.

STAY CURRENT!
Join Us
Receive giveaway offers, our monthly enewsletter, and more...
Join Now
 
Follow us on Twitter
 
Learn More
SUPPORT A LIBRARY
Buy Through Flamingnet





Flamingnet is NOT a commercial web site. For every book or other item purchased through us, we receive credit from Amazon.com. We use this credit to buy books for libraries in need.
Learn More
 
 
 
 
Nightshade

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer
Andrea Cremer
Philomel
Release Date:Oct-19-2010

Rating
(0 - 10 scale)
8



Age Level
young adult

Flamingnet Content Rating
Flamingnet
Content Rating

Please buy your books through our site. Flamingnet is an Associate member of Amazon.com. This means that we receive a credit at Amazon.com for every book purchased through Flamingnet. We use these credits for our expenses and to buy books for libraries that do not have money to purchase books for their collections.

Flamingnet Student Book Reviewer  MPark
Calla Tor is supposed to become the female alpha to a new pack after she and Ren mate, but Calla's life is not that easy. When Shay Doran comes to live in Vail, things go wrong. When Calla offers Shay her healing blood, and saves his life, she becomes more attached to him than she is supposed to. With the mating day less than a month away, the werewolves will have to either ban together or break apart forever.

This book has very good visual components; you can really feel that you are there in the book. The author makes the characters come alive, and the reader believes that what is happening to them can happen. Since this book was told in first person, it makes the book even more believable. The vocabulary was perfect for my reading level. The ending was good but it does leave you anticipating for the next book. I would recommend this book to people who liked books about werewolves, romance, and adventure.

Reviewer Age:13

Reviewer City, State and Country: Northglenn, Colorado United States of America



SECOND REVIEW
Rating
(0 - 10 scale)
9

Flamingnet
TOP CHOICE
Flamingnet Top Choice

Flamingnet Content Rating
Flamingnet
Content Rating

Flamingnet Student Book Reviewer  MDG
Calla Tor is a Guardian, and can shapeshift seamlessly from human to wolf whenever she wants, which is helpful when her and her pack must protect the sacred sites for their masters, the Keepers. As the alpha female, Calla must lead her pack and marry alpha male Ren of a rival pack. But when she illicitly saves a human boy, Shay, she feels an undeniable attraction to him. When Shay causes Calla to question the Keepers' rules, her impending marriage, and her whole lifestyle, Calla must make the choice to remain dutiful to her pack or follow her heart.

I loved Nightshade and thought that it was a great addition to the paranormal genre. Now that there is a plethora of vampire novels, authors are shifting their books towards werewolves, which is the mythical creature that takes center stage in Nightshade. I liked that Calla and her pack were non-traditional werewolves: they could shapeshift at will and not just at the full moon, and there was a whole pack heirachy with rules and regulations that made the novel very interesting. An important part of Nightshade is the love triangle between Calla, Ren and Shay. Ren is the alpha wolf that Calla must marry in order to unite the two packs and Shay is the boy that Calla saves and can't seem to stay away from. In the vein of Twilight, I'm sure these two male leads will spark a lot of debate and cause readers to pick one they like better. I thought both options were realistic for Calla but I just hope that the romance debate won't get in the way of Nightshade's actual plot, which was very interesting. Nothing that Calla has been told about the Keepers and the Guardians (this is what the werewolves are called) is true and she must find out the truth in subsequent novels. Overall, I really enjoyed Nightshade and can't wait for the next book!

Reviewer Age:19

Reviewer City, State and Country: Aston, Pennsylvania United States



Recommend this book and review to your friends on Facebook.



Do you have comments to share about this Book?
Click here to add them on "The Board."

  Read more reviews by Flamingnet Student Book Reviewer: MPark  


  Read more reviews by Flamingnet Student Book Reviewer: MDG  
Copyright
Copyright© 2014 LitPick LLC
All Rights Reserved